Setting up my  hoop house

 photo 9_zps4d95d9b6.jpg

 photo 5_zpse4652506.jpg

 photo 6_zps227f6e17.jpg

 photo 7_zps1bc32883.jpg

 photo 8_zps1d9629e6.jpg

I ended up converting it  into a trellis  garden as the winds here in Texas are  very  unforgiving.  Having  hurt my  wrists battling  the  winds on several occasions. I  thought  it wise to  pursue another course of action.  I  will post  up photos once I  get  my   spring  garden started or time allows  🙂

 photo whitesquash-pattypan_zps240ab028.jpg

White Squash –  Patty Pan
 photo yellowsquash2_zpsba2ca3db.jpg

 photo yellowsquash_zps6b750012.jpg

Yellow Squash

 photo pumpkinblossoom_zpscff3cb40.jpg

Pumpkin Blossom

 photo pumpkinandsquash_zps3f997c6c.jpg

 photo pumpkinandsquashpatch_zpsbdb50abb.jpg

Pumpkin and  Squash  Patch

 photo sunflowersandcorn_zps8312ae18.jpg

Sunflowers and  Corn

 photo plumtomatoes_zps6de43a9f.jpg

Roma Tomatoes

 photo figs_zpsb390c750.jpg

Figs

 photo roussetpotatoes_zps4992e14d.jpg

Russett Potatoes

 photo sweetpotato_zpsd071e47b.jpg

Sweet Potatoes

 photo carrots_zps0f446377.jpg

Carrots

 photo squash_zps03ae3c90.jpg

Yellow Squash and  Peppers

As you  can  see in  several of the photos I  use a variety  of mulches. My  favorite   and the most  inexpensive one is recycled cardboard. It  is  free,  it  is sturdy , it  keeps  the  weeds  at  bay keeping the  moisture in the  ground where it  belongs and it  is  biodegradable. It   helps to amend the soil along with other  additives like :

Compost  from my  compost  pit made with kitchen  scraps, garden  clippings  and  raked leaves

Waste  water  from my  aquariums  bi-weekly water  changes

Recycled non colored paper soaked and spread along the stems to discourage pests  from damaging the  young seedlings.

That’s all I  can  think of for right  now.If you  have  any  questions please ask and I  will answer to the  best  of my  abilities 🙂

 

©  Desert Rose